School Board West Beechboro Primary School

In 2012, when West Beechboro Primary School became an Independent Public School, the then School Council morphed into what is now the School Board.

The functions of the School Board is outlined in the Education Act 1999. In essence, the role of School Board is one of setting the long-term future for the school and maintaining oversight (not management) of the implementation of the school Business Plan. It is not about running the school – that is the job of the principal, but rather, about providing additional expertise to help the school achieve the best outcomes for students. Independent Public School (IPS) Board functions are consistent with the legislative role of a School Council.

Some of the responsibilities of the School Board include:

  • contributing to the school’s Delivery and Performance Agreement (DPA). This document summarises what the school wants to achieve in the future and how it plans to get there. The agreement is signed off by the Chair of the Board, the Principal and the Director General of Education;
  • monitoring the progress of the school’s Business Plan;
  • endorsing and reviewing the annual budget (this summarises the income received annually from the Department of Education and other sources, and also lists planned expenditure, including salaries);
  • assisting with the formulation of Codes of Conduct (guiding principles that influence the decisions and actions that the school takes);
  • participating in a review of the performance of the school;
  • creating interest, within and across the community, about the school;
  • assisting with the selection of a principal when a vacancy arises (usually the Chair of the School Board will be a member of the selection panel);
  • approving fees, charges, contributions and items of personal use (booklists);
  • approving extra cost optional components of programs;
  • approving arrangements for sponsorship or advertising;
  • liaising with other committees within the school e.g. the P&C;
  • providing advice to the principal on religious education and related activities.

Members of the School Board at West Beechboro Independent Primary School are:

Mr Joseph Hoe

Mr Joseph Hoe
(Board Chair)

Mrs Katherine Sadalva Churchman Board Chair

Mrs Katherine Sadalva

Mrs Gayle Higgins (Associate Principal)

Mrs Gayle Higgins
(Associate Principal)

Lisa Ziaja

Mrs Lisa Ziaja

Mr Jeremy Dennis

Mrs Lynda Westwood (Parent)

Mrs Lynda Westwood

Mrs Serena Ponton (Parent)

Mrs Serena Ponton

Ray Boyd (Principal)

Mr Ray Boyd

Mrs Rachel Bonney

CLICK HERE to read the school’s current business plan as endorsed by the school’s Board



Months Days Hours Minutes Seconds

Enrol at West Beechboro Primary School Join Us